Patient Reviews

Reviews for Restorative Dentistry Services Near Washington, DC

What sets City Smiles DC apart from other dental practices in the Metro Washington, DC area? Board-certified dentist, Dr. Stuart Ross and his team always ensure the privacy and comfort of their patients, and provide a caring atmosphere with a focus on the most comprehensive dentistry offered in our profession today. It is our mission to meet and exceed patient expectations, and to provide care for each patient at the highest level. Since 1980, Dr. Ross and his talented team have helped Washington, DC professionals and their families attain a lifetime of beautiful, healthy smiles. Our fun and friendly staff work alongside Dr. Ross utilizing the most advanced dental technology and methods for our patients, resulting in comfortable, efficient visits.

In this section, you can read what our previous and current patients say about their dental care in our office. Dr. Ross offers general, cosmetic, restorative, and periodontic treatments for patients of all ages, such as dental examinations, cleanings, digital X-rays, root canals, smile makeovers, gum disease laser treatments, and much more with decades worth of experience.

See Dr. Ross' profile on Healthgrades.
Filter20 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from K.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 24, 2018

I love the staff at City Smiles, from day one they’ve done everything they could do to make me feel comfortable, the staff really cares about you! Dr. Ross is knowledgeable, sensitive and so caring! Called me after a filling to check on me.. knowing how nervous I was. The entire practice is fantastic! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 19, 2018

The minute you walk in, you are greeted by a friendly courteous staff. My visit was for a denture repair. Dr. Ross explained all of my options for the repair. I opted to have the work done in the office. I carried my denture in and about hour later I wore my denture out. The work was fast and professional. Dr. Ross went to great detail to see that I walked out with a smile, knowing that my denture repair was done right. So five stars for DR. Ross and five stars for the staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Google  |  May 17, 2018

The English idiom is: "a picture is worth a thousand words" ... need I say more? Love my new look. I have lived with a chipped and crooked tooth since I was 13 years old! Thank you Dr. Ross and Deneen, and the rest of your caring and wonderful team, and shout out to Jennifer for teaching me all about how to best utilize my insurance. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 10, 2018

Dr. Stuart Ross and his staff have provided me with excellent dental care. I completed extensive dental work at their conveniently located office in Downtown DC. From cleanings to restorative work, Dr. Ross and his team are outstanding and always work around my schedule. I highly recommend them for all your dental needs! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 03, 2017

I have been getting my dental needs met at City Smiles since 1996, even though I have been living in London for the past two-and-a-half years. From the moment you step into the waiting room to the moment you step out of the dental chair, Dr. Ross and his associates are warm and welcoming. After twenty years of going to City Smiles, I feel like I am visiting an old friend who just happens to be incredibly handy with dental implements. Speaking of which: Dr. Ross and his team are constantly going to conferences and seminars so that they are on the cutting edge of dentistry. They have the latest in technology, and the care at City Smiles just keeps getting better and better. In over twenty years I have never had a complaint. My teeth look good and feel good, and I've been told I have great gums. I never thought I'd say this, but I actually enjoy going to the dentist. City Smiles is worth crossing the Atlantic for. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.E.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 30, 2017

1 review 5.0 star rating 8/10/2017 I was referred to Dr. Ross by a colleague because I was very disappointed with my then- dentist. I'm dealing with some advanced dental issue and was pretty overwhelmed. So, I decided to call his office and never looked back. Dr. Ross is very thorough. He was very good about learning about me and my history, and then making sure I understood what I'm dealing with and what my treatment meant. He's very caring! I was so surprised when he called to check on me after my first procedure. He's very comforting and makes sure he's accessible even after hours. Tina and Jennifer are also amazing! His team is very professional, empathetic, courteous, and respectful. I highly recommend Dr. Ross, I only wish I came to him sooner! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 23, 2017

I had a great experience with Dr. Ross and his Team at City Smiles. I was recommended to Dr. Ross to have 2 crowns done on front teeth that were in bad shape. While my regular Dentist was "ok" for the regular checkups, I was looking for someone that was really among the best in high quality serious dental procedures. Before I get into the results, I want to comment on the professional high end ambiance and service that was there at every step of this experience. Dr. Ross personally took a good amount of time to examine my teeth and fully explain his plan to make my teeth look and work like new again. I was pleased that the both teeth were done in one trip - abiet a 3 hour appointment. The color match is perfect, and Love the idea of lots of big grins and smiles. This truely was a 5 star experience. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 05, 2017

I first went to Dr. Ross/City Smiles DC 13 years ago when referred by a long-time happy customer and I am SO GLAD that I did! I have not even considered going anywhere else since! Dr. Ross and his team are professional, skilled, courteous, and kind. (I consider them friends.) Ashley is my dental hygienist and she is terrific - always upbeat and adept. Dr. Ross checks on me each time I visit and has skillfully taken care of the more serious problems in my mouth when they arise. In fact, after my last oral surgery, Dr. Ross cautioned me that I might experience some discomfort or even pain when the numbness wore off. I anxiously awaited the seemingly inevitable pain and NOTHING! He's that good. And he works hard to be. Dr. Ross keeps abreast of the latest developments in his field and encourages and enables his team to do the same through training and continuing education. I can't speak highly enough about this practice. It's THE BEST! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 27, 2017

Dr. Ross has been my dentist for many years. Despite living in Los Angeles,I have decided to continue with him alone for several reasons. The first and foremost is Dr. Ross' attentiveness and uncompromising genuine concern for my dental comfort and wellbeing. Just this past trip he noticed some decay on a tooth and scheduled me in early in the morning to see me before my flight that afternoon. His technology and technique are all top of the line and state of art. He never rushes but always manages to get me out of the office surprisingly quickly. His entire staff are genuinely nice human beings who also professionally take into account all of your patient needs. After a crown replacement this last visit Dr. Ross called me, after his office had closed, just to assure that I was comfortable and that the molding had been successful. That, and he once offered to drive my mother's car home when she was too loopy from a procedure to drive safely. I'm not saying this is something he can guarantee for you! But it is just another example of the care and remarkable concern that this doctor will have for you and yours. I'll be seeing him every six months until the teeth fall out of my head. Or, until he has to replace them all. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 06, 2017

Hands down the best practice in DC. I've been seeing Dr. Ross and his team for almost 10 years. They are all incredibly friendly, easy to work with, and in an emergency are more than willing to bend over backwards for you. On top of the people, the office is state of the art. There is never a doubt that you are getting the best care here. I would highly recommend Dr. Ross to anyone. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 27, 2016

Within the first five minutes, Jennifer, who is easily one of the most attentive customer service professionals I've ever dealt with, calmed me down from a terrible experince I had with my previous dentist who is responsible for a good bit of unnecessary pain. She saw fit to negotiate the schedule such that I could be seen immediately (as a new patient), and profusely apologized for the way the previous dentist had treated me. Dr Ross, who has the best patient forward bedside manner I've ever experienced, spent 5 minutes with me before diagnosing my problem as so acute that he personally walked to the endontists office down the hall, and made an appointment for me, only to come back and retrieve me and more or less grab my hand and set me down in a chair in the other doctors office. Later, they refused to let me pay anything for this consult. I've already been back to Dr Ross, and I look forward to it every time because, damn, he's just fun tonbe around. But based on my experience thus far, I'll never go to another dentist as long as I live in the area. I've already made family members and my roommates promise to go as well. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 27, 2016

City smiles makes me actually look forward to going to the dentist! Everyone is always friendly, and they all go out of their way to make you feel both comfortable and relaxed. They are genuinely interested in getting to know you and building a relationship with their clients. They are also very helpful in creating plans for dental care that work around your individual situation. I recomend this office wholeheartedly, as you will never have a more pleasant experience anywhere else! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 27, 2016

City Smiles is awesome. Went in today to have an implant readied for a future procedure and as always the experience was great. Dr. Ross is very concerned with comfort and avoiding pain. When it comes time to get numbed up he goes slowly and takes his time---the process is virtually pain free. He also allows you to get fully numb before proceeding. I almost fell asleep while he was working on me! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 27, 2016

Really the benchmark against which all others should be measured. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 27, 2016

Somehow I find it more relaxing going to the dentist than the rest of my day. All at City Smiles are great. I highly recommend them! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 05, 2016

For the last 25 years of my life, I've had nothing but teeth hell.  Some say it's genetics, some say it's lack of care for my teeth and some say it is just bad luck.  Whatever it may be, I have to deal with it.  10 root canals, many fillings, crowns, bridges, you name it.Recently, I had an emergency.  I was out of town visiting new clients.  The night before my first meeting, I had a 3 unit bridge in the very forefront of my mouth fall out.  Not only did it fall out, but it cracked.  I called every dentist in town.  Luckily one was able to see me at 8am.  I was thrilled.  I showed up at 7:30 with the piece that fell out and sat down in the chair.After 2 minutes of sitting in the chair, he made it very clear, that the bridge was cracked and there was no way of cementing it back in.  Plain and simple.  He told me there was nothing he could do.  I went to my customer site and tried my best not to smile for the day.I continued to call Dentists that day hoping to find someone that could do something for me.  On my 8th call to an emergency Dental line, they referred me to a place in DC called City Smiles.  I called.  A receptionist answered and I began to explain my story.  She had me hold for 30 seconds before Dr. Ross picked up the phone and asked me to explain everything.  He wanted to know everything.  After I filled him in, he told me to be there in the morning the minute they opened. What Dentist picks up the phone?I got there about a half hour early.  2 minutes after I walked in the door, Dr. Ross came over to introduce himself and discuss the issue.  I was blown away.  It was like he was waiting for me to arrive.He took me the minute of my appointment.  I was prepared to hear that there was nothing he could do.  Contrary to my expectations, he created a new bridge that looked better than the one that fell out, matched my teeth better than the last one, and I was able to face my clients.Everyone in that office was extremely pleasant.  Not often do you find an office where everyone treats a patient with the same level of respect courtesy and empathy as I experienced here. Hats off to Dr. Ross and his staff.  Keep up the great work and thanks for getting me out of a terrible mess! More

5.0
120517
Review from M.S.  |  Source: RateABiz  |  Dec 16, 2015

That was so easy and efficeint - Outstanding! Dr. Ross replaced a cap that was so pain-free and efficient that I can't believe the whole thing was done in one easy session. Polite, courtesy, informative, and reassuring. This is professionalism at its best!!! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from J.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 12, 2016

Clean, modern and professional dental office. More

4.0
ReviewTracker-13521430
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Oct 11, 2009

Stuart Ross is expensive yet the quality of his work appears to fall short of excellent. After getting several second opinions I discovered that the treatment he was recommending was not necessary. I was also informed (by two top-rated dentists) that a crown he inserted fits poorly and needs to be replaced. They said that the computer-driven CEREC process that he relies on so heavily is a poor substitute for a skilled dentist's work. More

4.7
ReviewTracker-13521433
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  May 10, 2008

I've had a lot of dental work by Ross over about 15 years. A great dentist, if you can afford him. Not a BC/BS preferred provider, and very expensive. Ask for prices before agreeing to ANYTHING. Top notch hygienists and receptionists. Latest technology. Good people skills. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.