Patient Reviews

Reviews for City Smiles DC

What sets City Smiles DC apart from other dental practices in the Metro Washington, DC area? Board-certified dentist, Dr. Stuart Ross and his team always ensure the privacy and comfort of their patients, and provide a caring atmosphere with a focus on the most comprehensive dentistry offered in our profession today. It is our mission to meet and exceed patient expectations, and to provide care for each patient at the highest level. Since 1980, Dr. Ross and his talented team have helped Washington, DC professionals and their families attain a lifetime of beautiful, healthy smiles. Our fun and friendly staff work alongside Dr. Ross utilizing the most advanced dental technology and methods for our patients, resulting in comfortable, efficient visits.

In this section, you can read what our previous and current patients say about their dental care in our office. Dr. Ross offers general, cosmetic, restorative, and periodontic treatments for patients of all ages, such as dental examinations, cleanings, digital X-rays, root canals, smile makeovers, gum disease laser treatments, and much more with decades worth of experience.

See Dr. Ross' profile on Healthgrades.
Filter32 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from P.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 18, 2018

I don't think you'll find another dentist in this city that will actually send you a handwritten note after your appointment welcoming you and thanking you for using their practice. After a lousy experience at my last dentist, I was referred to Dr. Ross and his team (my hygienist Melissa was top notch) and I doubt I could find a better place to get my pearly whites examined. Can't recommend them enough. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 24, 2018

Dr Ross and his team are friendly and committed to your comfort and quality care.  Dr. Ross found a tooth that required surgery and quickly referred me for an additional consultation and to an oral surgeon.  I am grateful he identified the problem before it became a big problem.  Melissa did an excellent job and gave me a thorough and pain free cleaning.  The front desk are so kind and helped with additional appointments.  Highly recommend. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 27, 2017

I was referred to Dr. Ross for veneers. Wow.....I've never felt so comfortable in the dentist chair until my visit at City Smiles. Dr. Ross and Tina were so professional, warm, and comforting. I had a lengthy procedure - 6 veneers in one day. The technology they offer creates veneers almost instantly. They talked me through every step of the process. I highly recommend Dr. Ross for veneers and plan to use City Smiles for my regular visits. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 24, 2017

Amazing experience. No pain, clean teeth, lots of knowledge, high tech without the price.  Don't forget the M&M dispensers everywhere!!!  Keeps you coming back! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 30, 2017

I've been seeing Dr. Ross for thirty years. He is extremely talented and professional. He takes his time to makes every procedure as comfortable and pain-free as is possible. Very friendly staff give out free M&Ms. What's not to love? More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 24, 2017

Not a big fan of going to the dentist, but even cleanings are a treat at City Smiles. Dr. Ross is up on all the latest tech and makes the experience pretty darn comfortable. I recently had to have a crown replaced and while this has been an ordeal at other dentists, the afternoon I spent was really great. Cozy blankets, eye protectors, a place for your stuff while you're waiting for the crown to cook, any kind of music you want, and just an overall very relaxing experience, all things considered. I've been going to Dr. Ross since I moved to DC about 4 years ago and he and his team are the best. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.E.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 10, 2017

I was referred to Dr. Ross by a colleague because I was very disappointed with my then- dentist. I'm dealing with some advanced dental issue and was pretty overwhelmed. So, I decided to call his office and never looked back. Dr. Ross is very thorough. He was very good about learning about me and my history, and then making sure I understood what I'm dealing with and what my treatment meant. He's very caring! I was so surprised when he called to check on me after my first procedure. He's very comforting and makes sure he's accessible even after hours. Tina and Jennifer are also amazing! His team is very professional, empathetic, courteous, and respectful. I highly recommend Dr. Ross, I only wish I came to him sooner! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 18, 2017

I went to see Dr. Ross on the recommendation of a friend after I had a horrible experience with another dentist. That was over 10 years ago. I've recommended him to several other people who have been happy as well. Friendly, competent staff who treat their patients well! Thanks for all you do to make the experience positive. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 27, 2017

My experience with Dr.Ross, Melissa, Jennifer and Tina was great. On my first appointment I came with my 2 yr old because I couldn't find a babysitter in time and everyone was very accommodating. Dr.Ross' wife even played with him while I used the restroom! Wonderful team wonderful service! Also my dental work is amazing, highly recommended. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 24, 2017

My experience with Dr.Ross, Melissa, Jennifer and Tina was great. On my first appointment I came with my 2 yr old because I couldn't find a babysitter in time and everyone was very accommodating. Dr.Ross' wife even played with him while I used the restroom! Wonderful team wonderful service! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 10, 2017

I love Dr. Ross's office and staff. He is very professional and provides high quality dental services.  He ensures that I retain all of my teeth and that my gums are health.  He and his staff have terrific personalities and offer the best quality dental service.  It's a joy to work with him and his staff.  My mouth feels fantastic!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 05, 2017

I first went to Dr. Ross/City Smiles DC 13 years ago when referred by a long-time happy customer and I am SO GLAD that I did! I have not even considered going anywhere else since! Dr. Ross and his team are professional, skilled, courteous, and kind. (I consider them friends.) Ashley is my dental hygienist and she is terrific - always upbeat and adept. Dr. Ross checks on me each time I visit and has skillfully taken care of the more serious problems in my mouth when they arise. In fact, after my last oral surgery, Dr. Ross cautioned me that I might experience some discomfort or even pain when the numbness wore off. I anxiously awaited the seemingly inevitable pain and NOTHING! He's that good. And he works hard to be. Dr. Ross keeps abreast of the latest developments in his field and encourages and enables his team to do the same through training and continuing education. I can't speak highly enough about this practice. It's THE BEST! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-14093015
Review from S.-.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 27, 2017

Awesome!!!!! Dr. Ross took me on an emergency visit on a very short notice. He and his team helped to ease my fear of dental pain. Dr. Ross and his team took great care of me and even impressed my wife. Dr. Ross will now serve as my primary Dentist. Dr. Ross's office is by far the best dentistry experience ever!!!! Thank you Jennifer for your exemplary customer service. Tina, we love your down to earth persona. We are deeply grateful for being referred to Dr. Ross's office. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 19, 2017

I've been coming here for about 6-7 years and Dr. Ross, Tina, Deneen, Ashley and his entire team are AMAZING!  Like many people I am a bit scared of the dentist but everyone in the office works so hard to ease my fears and make sure I am comfortable.  The care is fantastic and I am pretty sure I've had just about every service they offer (cavities filled, teeth straightened with invisalign, veneers, etc.), they use plenty of anesthetic and take their time to make sure that there is no pain.  Dr. Ross calls the evening after the service to make sure you are feeling ok and not in too much pain.  It was so comforting to know that he cares about his patients both when they were in the office and when they leave.I was never pressured me to get services that I didn't truly need and they let me take my time in deciding to get the invisalign and veneers (and I am SO happy I did get them because I love my new smile!).  They even gave me a free cleaning right before my wedding so my teeth would look perfect for all those photos!They don't take insurance but they are super-quick at submitting claims and I typically receive my reimbursement in just a few weeks which means that I can use a rewards credit card to get miles for my visit to the dentist. A nice little bonus! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-13755824
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 01, 2016

Have you every been to a dentist's office for a cleaning and said to yourself "What a pleasant experience"? Then you haven't been to Dr. Ross' office at City Smiles DC. My teeth were still being cleaned and I said this to myself. Attention to comfort is the number one priority, second only to their concern for the condition of my teeth. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 30, 2016

First I will say that I am petrified when it comes to visiting the dentist! Dr. Ross, Dr. Saba and Dr. Deneen provided the best dental care I have ever received!  Celeste and Jennifer at the front were great as well! The level of professionalism and compassion displayed by this group blew me away. I had some questions about my bonding and I needed a fractured filling repaired. Everything found during the exam was explained in detail and I was not only offered the opportunity, but encouraged to ask questions throughout my visit. I would definitely recommend this practice to anyone looking for a great team to handle their dental needs! And to top off the great visit, I received a classy little goody bag to welcome me to the practice! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 16, 2016

Best dentist and staff in DC. Extremely thorough yet still efficient. Melissa provide excellent services, answered all of my questions and was so friendly. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-13559950
Review from E.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 06, 2016

For the last 25 years of my life, I've had nothing but teeth hell. Some say it's genetics, some say it's lack of care for my teeth and some say it is just bad luck. Whatever it may be, I have to deal with it. 10 root canals, many fillings, crowns, bridges, you name it. Recently, I had an emergency. I was out of town visiting new clients. The night before my first meeting, I had a 3 unit bridge in the very forefront of my mouth fall out. Not only did it fall out, but it cracked. I called every dentist in town. Luckily one was able to see me at 8am. I was thrilled. I showed up at 7:30 with the piece that fell out and sat down in the chair. After 2 minutes of sitting in the chair, he made it very clear, that the bridge was cracked and there was no way of cementing it back in. Plain and simple. He told me there was nothing he could do. I went to my customer site and tried my best not to smile for the day. I continued to call Dentists that day hoping to find someone that could do something for me. On my 8th call to an emergency Dental line, they referred me to a place in DC called City Smiles. I called. A receptionist answered and I began to explain my story. She had me hold for 30 seconds before Dr. Ross picked up the phone and asked me to explain everything. He wanted to know everything. After I filled him in, he told me to be there in the morning the minute they opened. What Dentist picks up the phone? I got there about a half hour early. 2 minutes after I walked in the door, Dr. Ross came over to introduce himself and discuss the issue. I was blown away. It was like he was waiting for me to arrive. He took me the minute of my appointment. I was prepared to hear that there was nothing he could do. Contrary to my expectations, he created a new bridge that looked better than the one that fell out, matched my teeth better than the last one, and I was able to face my clients. Everyone in that office was extremely pleasant. Not often do you find an office where everyone treats a patient with the same level of respect courtesy and empathy as I experienced here. Hats off to Dr. Ross and his staff. Keep up the great work and thanks for getting me out of a terrible mess! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 05, 2016

For the last 25 years of my life, I've had nothing but teeth hell.  Some say it's genetics, some say it's lack of care for my teeth and some say it is just bad luck.  Whatever it may be, I have to deal with it.  10 root canals, many fillings, crowns, bridges, you name it.Recently, I had an emergency.  I was out of town visiting new clients.  The night before my first meeting, I had a 3 unit bridge in the very forefront of my mouth fall out.  Not only did it fall out, but it cracked.  I called every dentist in town.  Luckily one was able to see me at 8am.  I was thrilled.  I showed up at 7:30 with the piece that fell out and sat down in the chair.After 2 minutes of sitting in the chair, he made it very clear, that the bridge was cracked and there was no way of cementing it back in.  Plain and simple.  He told me there was nothing he could do.  I went to my customer site and tried my best not to smile for the day.I continued to call Dentists that day hoping to find someone that could do something for me.  On my 8th call to an emergency Dental line, they referred me to a place in DC called City Smiles.  I called.  A receptionist answered and I began to explain my story.  She had me hold for 30 seconds before Dr. Ross picked up the phone and asked me to explain everything.  He wanted to know everything.  After I filled him in, he told me to be there in the morning the minute they opened. What Dentist picks up the phone?I got there about a half hour early.  2 minutes after I walked in the door, Dr. Ross came over to introduce himself and discuss the issue.  I was blown away.  It was like he was waiting for me to arrive.He took me the minute of my appointment.  I was prepared to hear that there was nothing he could do.  Contrary to my expectations, he created a new bridge that looked better than the one that fell out, matched my teeth better than the last one, and I was able to face my clients.Everyone in that office was extremely pleasant.  Not often do you find an office where everyone treats a patient with the same level of respect courtesy and empathy as I experienced here. Hats off to Dr. Ross and his staff.  Keep up the great work and thanks for getting me out of a terrible mess! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 27, 2016

I am really surprised by some of the 1 star reviews ... are these people going to the same dentist I go to? If you look at certain 'yelpers' history, lots of people come on here to complain about anything they can. How sad :( Dr Ross is the best dentist I've ever been to, I can't imagine going to anyone else. If you're skeptical, call their office! Guaranteed you won't experience better customer service anywhere else. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-13516423
Review from L.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 25, 2016

I have been going to Dr. Ross for years and have always had a great experience. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-13705884
Review from M.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 14, 2016

If I could give City Smiles 10 stars I would. I have been a patient of Dr. Ross for 20 years. I started as a frightened dental phobic but with the kindness, expertise and current technologies of Stuart and his team my fears are long gone. I KNOW I would not have the confident smile I have, let alone the healthy teeth and gums I have if it were not for Dr. Ross and his team. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 16, 2016

I haven't been to a dentist in a really long time. I once had a terrible root canal experience and have been not been back since. I was anxious and worried but from the moment I made my appointment the wonderful staff at City Smiles put me at ease. Dr. Ross was not only professional but compassionate and patient. He checked on me at every stage of my visit. Ashley was the best and I can't wait to go back in 6 months! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.F.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 12, 2015

I broke a tooth earlier today and called Dr. Ross immediately. Even though the office was closing for a meeting, they told me to come over right away. Dr. Ross and Deneen took me right in and started working and less than an hour later, I was back at my desk. As always, it was a painless, pleasant and gentle experience and I am so grateful. The best care possible with the latest technology and equipment and the nicest dentist and staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 04, 2015

Dr. Ross and his team are the best of the best. They have state of the art equipment and hold themselves to the highest standards in their work. Every cleaning experience has been so enjoyable. I had a filling completed and I didn't feel a thing - not a single thing during or after my procedure! And the annual Christmas parties with incredible food and drinks are the icing on the cake. Dr. Ross always goes the extra mile in his patient care and it is much appreciated. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 06, 2014

I've been a regular patient of the practice for a few years and dental care doesn't get any better.  First thing to note is the location.  It's right in the heart of DC's business district, easily accessible by the red, orange, and blue lines, as well as numerous bus lines.  When you walk in, you can't help but feel welcomed by the staff.  While I haven't needed any major dental work, my hygienist Ashley has made each of my cleaning experiences terrific.  She is extremely personable, yet professional and is both thorough and gentle with her cleanings, which is a great thing for someone who maybe doesn't floss as often as he should.  I leave each appointment feeling as fresh as a daisy.  In addition to dental care, you can tell that the practice really cares about its patients.  Dr. Ross generously throws a fully-catered, fully-stocked bar Christmas party each year as a thank you to his patients.  It's care like that which will keep you coming back to the practice. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-13516421
Review from A.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 13, 2013

I'm new to the area, having just moved up to D.C. from Charlottesville, VA. I have to say that I've had pretty good luck with dentists in my life, so this review really is a reflection about the absolute quality of Dr. Ross's practice (and, in particular, Dr. Crocker who was my treating dentist and who I understand has recently started working with Dr. Ross). Here's what happened: I bit into a redskin potato at lunch. Much to my chagrin, the potato was apparently comprised partly of a pebble, which I felt crunch into one of my back left teeth. I spit out the pebble, cringed, and didn't think much of it. A couple hours later, though, when chewing on a crunchy snack, I heard another odd noise. I then felt the back of my tooth with my tongue and a sizable chunk of it was missing. UGH! Having no dentist in the area yet, I scrambled to try and find someone who would take me quickly. Luckily, a co-worker of mine is married to a dentist (the aforementioned Dr. Crocker), and she recommended I give him a call. (So, to repeat for full disclosure purposes, I do in fact know Dr. Crocker tangentially through a co-worker, but had never had any dental care from him prior to this past week). The tooth was damaged at about 4:00pm on a Thursday, about an hour before most dental offices close. I was able to get through to Dr. Crocker in short order and after I told him what happened, not only did he tell me that he could set up an emergency appointment--he told me that I could come in IMMEDIATELY. I showed up and was immediately impressed with the friendliness of the staff and the high quality of the facility. The office basically looks like it is brand new: clean, brightly lit, and exactly the kind of place you'd like to go to if you have a dental emergency. Dr. Crocker looked at my tooth pretty much right away and quickly diagnosed my options. I've heard stories before of dentists who will try and get patients to do more work than is absolutely necessary, but the opposite was true here: Dr Crocker provided me with all of the information I could have hoped for about what had happened (one of my cusps fractured; he showed me pictures and xrays and explained exactly where and what the problem was) and all of the information about treatment options (ranging from a resin patch that would last up to five years, but that would be hard to count on, up to a ceramic restoration that would be much, much more reliable). I never once got the sense that he was trying to sell anything to me - he just provided the objective information and let me make my own choice. I should also add a couple other points. The first is that Dr. Crocker ended up staying until almost 7pm, by himself, to patch my tooth (I decided to get the full ceramic restoration too, just to be safe, which I will do next week - but the short-term patch made sense in the interim both for comfort purposes and to make sure there aren't any more serious problems that weren't immediately manifesting). I found this to be extraordinary. Maybe it helps that I work with his spouse, but I got the sense that Dr. Crocker would be this accomodating for any and all of his patients. The second thing is that I am pretty queamish about pain, I'm not ashamed to admit. When I had my wisdom teeth out several years ago, I had a horrible experience being jabbed by the anasthetic needle, which was itself excruciating (even after having a topical anasthetic applied first). So I was very wary of the anathesia prior to this patch. But Dr. Crocker & Dr. Ross have an incredible device that I've never seen before that uses an automatic needle that is much smaller and sharper and that injects in a much more measured way that, quite frankly, I didn't feel it. So, it may not be a huge reason to go there for most people, but for me the idea of a close-to-pain-free dental experience is a huge plus. So, needless to say, I will be recommending to all of my friends and colleagues that if they are in the market for a new dentist, to go see Dr. Ross & Dr. Crocker. I'll add particularly that because I understand Dr. Ross is one of the more established dentists in the city, he may be harder to get in with. In that event, I highly encourage you to set up an appointment with Dr. Crocker. I don't know if there is some organization that keeps track of these things, but it wouldn't surprise me if he is one of the better up and coming young dentists in the area. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 07, 2013

Stuart Ross is a tremendous dentist. I had several other mediocre dentists in the DC area before I found him. He is extremely smart and personable, stays abreast of the latest technologies and is incredibly thorough. Whatever work he does will be done right - and it will last. His staff is topnotch, too. Five stars.The one caveat is that Dr. Ross is expensive, especially if he does not take your insurance. His service is worth the price, but only customers can decide if they can afford to pay the premium. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.Z.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 11, 2012

Dr. Ross had been my dentist for at least 20 years.  He's great.  His staff are very professional and effective.  Always on time.  I've had two implants done this past year.  Easy and painless.  I don't know why I ever put it off.  His staff help with insurance claims.  Dr. Ross is patient and will work with patients like me who are reluctant to get things done, without being pushy.  He has all the latest equipment which likely makes his services slightly higher priced than others, but the excellent service and high quality work is well worth the cost.  I coouldn't imagine going to any other dentist. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 01, 2011

Dr. Ross and his staff are very friendly and professional.  The office has short wait times, and the staff is always helpful with scheduling, submitting insurance claims, etc.Dr. Ross has been my dentist since I moved to DC in 2006.  I had 10 porcelain veneers done about a year earlier.  His technician noticed a fine crack in one of them during my cleaning, Dr. Ross suggested we just watch to see if any new problems develop, and that was about 2 years ago (still no problems).Another one of my veneers came off and broke.  He saw me right away, and he has a new machine in the office that uses digital images of your mouth to create a replacement immediately.  I walked out of the office that day with a new veneer, which has been doing fine ever since. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 30, 2010

Dr. Ross and his team have cared for my teeth since the late 1970s.  After moving from the DC area in 2002, I have flown back to have Dr. Ross take care of "problems" too complex for my Ohio dentist to handle.  My confidence in his work has been confirmed many times by dentists I have seen in Ohio who have always remarked at how good my teeth look.  Dr. Ross is not only a Dentist, he is an artist.  His Cerec restorations are indeed works of art!  I can recommend him without reservation.  (He also has a wicked sense of humor and throws the best holiday party for his patients . . . plus he has a candy dispenser in the reception area just to make sure he has plenty of work!) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 02, 2008

First, my disclaimer: I'm Dr. Ross's web designer, so he is a paying client of mine.I've been a patient of Dr. Ross's since 2000, he and his dental technicians provide my twice-yearly teeth cleanings.I really like everybody at Dr. Ross's office, it's extremely professional but also extremely friendly.  They do not overbook and their waiting room has only 4 seats, so you get treated quickly.I really like having Dr. Ross as my regular dentist, but he also performs cosmetic dentistry procedures like veneers, in-office Whitening, invisalign teeth straightening, and ceramic "fililngs".  Because of the high-tech procedures he uses, the color-matching on veneers, whitening and ceramic restorations is great, and most of the procedures are one-visit-only, so you are done quickly.  It's very convenient, safe and fast! More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.